Brussels office

The Brussels office was established in 1974 and supports the Confederation’s experts, as well as those of our member federations, by providing information, advice and communicating with the EU institutions.

EU-Priorities 2017

During 2017 the Brussels office have three key priorities in the ongoing EU-legislation:

  • The Digital Single Market
  • The Energy Union
  • Pillar of Social Rights

Read more about our priorities here. Other policy areas important to us are: Internal market, better regulation/REFIT, free trade, environment, climate, brexit and corporate governance. Do you want to know more about these issues please contact each policy officer at the Brussels office.

The office represents the interests of Swedish business and works closely together with other Swedish and European business representatives in Brussels.

The Brussels office also participates in the formulation of the Confederation’s EU-related policy and is active towards the Swedish government, governmental agencies, and other concerned parties. We regularly prepare and host seminars and other activities.

Visiting address:

 Rue du Luxembourg 3

 B-1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

 Phone: + 32 (0)2 793 75 60



Jens Hedström

Head of Brussels Office
+32 479 65 16 86

International Director with special responsibility for EU issues. Permanent Delegate to BUSINESSEUROPE for the Confederation, BE WG Better Regulation, Chair of BIAC Governance Committee to the OECD and member of 1st VP Timmermans Refit Platform


Karin Atthoff

Deputy Director, EU Affairs
+32 2 793 75 64

Responsible for policy development on single market issues (primarily free movement of goods and services). Also responsible for monitoring better regulation, environment issues, CSR at EU level and Brexit.

Sophia Bengtsson

Deputy Director EU Affairs
+32 2 793 75 65

Manages policy overview focusing on trade, the digital economy, energy & climate and handles communication efforts.

Valérie Lefever

Office Manager Brussels Office
+32 2 793 75 62

Manages office, accounting, HR, IT, PA to the director, and welcomes/help visiting delegations.

Trainee Brussels Office
+32 2 793 75 69

Works with policy and media monitoring, foremost with Jens Hedström.

Trainee Brussels Office
+32 2 793 75 61

Works with policy and media monitoring, foremost with Karin Atthoff.


Works with policy and media monitoring, foremost with Sophia Bengtsson.